Small update:

by

Hello Tamers!

First of all: We’re still alive.

Second of all: Visit our Facebook page, a lot is going on there.

Big updates will still be posted here, but if you want to see things happening just as they occur, follow us on Facebook! :)

Like if you haven’t yet! :) And last but not least:

Recruiting: We are currently looking for a skilled programmer who can write an image editing program for the game with the option of inserting BIGGER images and editing of UV Mapping of Fonts/Textures.
While not essential to the fantranslation this is a project I came up with and if someone’s inserted feel free to contact me at romsstar@gmx.de
101 Responses to “Small update:”

  1. cryum Says:

    “Visit our facebook page”

    You should probably link it, then.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rai Says:

    @Cryum: You should probably look at the blog properly, then.

    Like

  3. cryum Says:

    @Rai redundancy is the essence of advertising.

    Like

  4. Rai Says:

    @Cryum: Your post was that they hadn’t linked the facebook page. Where as that’s wrong, they had made a blog post specifically on the SAME page before, you just had to look down.

    Like

  5. Romsstar Says:

    You can find the Facebook link now on the right sidebar as well.

    Like

  6. cryum Says:

    Rai, I did not say that they hadn’t linked it on the website. Linking it on the blog post just creates a more natural flow for the thought process. Redundancy is key, designing a website to make it as easy as possible for people to go to the pages you want them to is just good practice.

    @Romsstar that works too.

    Like

  7. Rai Says:

    @Cryum: Sure, a normal website would do that.

    but this isn’t a normal website. It’s a blog. You read the blog posts, there are several blogposts in one page. It doesn’t take a genius to look down or google “Operation decoded facebook”. It’s not hard, nor is it even time consuming. You wasted more time posting these posts than you would have looking for the facebook page.

    Like

  8. Anonymous Says:

    @Rai

    If you have to actively look for it, then many won’t. It is definetly good practice to link a page when it is mentioned, regardless of the kind of site you are running.

    inb4 you call me lazy, and/or rage at me for not looking for the facebook page. I did, and have been following it for some time.

    Like

  9. Rai Says:

    @Anonymous: Or maybe people can stop being lazy and read the blog they’re actually on?

    Look, I understand if the Facebook page was ‘never’ linked to at all, or if the blogpost was on another page, but it isn’t. It was literally two blogposts down below, it’s not hard to scroll down to see if they linked it in the past.

    Stop making excuses, and stop trying to act like you’d know how I’d react. Because you clearly know nothing of me.

    Like

  10. saneparadox Says:

    @Cryum/anonymous I have to side with Rai on this,

    Tone is everything, and this wouldn’t be an issue if the first response was written positively. Like for example:

    “Please include the link to facebook page please for ease of access for new readers”

    Or

    “Positive advice here, include that the link to fb is on the sidebar”

    The tone written initially sounds very presumptuous and rude. As opposed to helpful.

    Honestly, it’s somewhat eyerolling when the blog posts about advertises following fb and the reader can’t look to the right to find the link there. Because the first thing anyone would do is do a light search for a link. Be it on home page or on a previous post.

    Like

  11. cryum Says:

    @saneparadox Excuse me? I get where you’re coming from, but I was of the impression that Romsstar meant to do it and just forgot, and I was just teasing him. Was it really that presumptuous? I must have stayed too long in places where people have thicker skin.

    As for the link….you realize the facebook link wasn’t on the right side before I mentioned it, right? That’s why I mentioned it, I checked. I saw the twitter, twitch, and GBATemp link, but not the facebook one.

    If I was mistaken about that, I apologize, but that was the context with which I made the comment, and Romsstar seems to have indeed fixed the problem. Okay, maybe “problem” is a bit strong, but “lack of optimization” doesn’t quite roll off the tongue.

    Like

  12. Rai Says:

    @Cryum: People having “thicker skin” has nothing to do with you not being an ass. Your post was no where near teasing, but outright rude.

    But if you really want to take it that way, then my response to you was also teasing, thicker skin yadda yadda yadda.

    Like

  13. Syd Montague Says:

    Could you please calm down? Cryum noted a genuine problem, reported it (although the wording could be interpreted as a bit passive aggressive) and Romsstar fixed it.

    I really see no reason to start a flame war because of that.

    And as a side note, never overestimate the capabilities of the average computer user. :P

    Like

  14. Rai Says:

    @Syd: I’m not sure what conversation you’ve been reading, but it’s not this one. Because I fail to see the flamewar. Nobody was insulting each other, period. Nobody was angry, nor were they not calm.

    At most, it was a “heated” discussion, and even that’s a bit exaggurated.

    And as a side note, never underestimate the capabilities of the average computer user. :P

    Like

  15. Elpizo Says:

    I came here to read comments about the update to the game and it was just a bunch of people arguing. :-/ I’m looking forward to the release of this translation. You guys did an amazing job before and honestly I think they (Bandai) should give you jobs for the work you do. I’ll always support your work.
    patiently waiting in an impatiently manner
    XD

    Like

  16. Rai Says:

    @Elpizo: There’s a difference between an argument, and a discussion.

    Learn it.

    Like

  17. Syd Montague Says:

    @Rai
    I was actually reading exactly this conversation.
    As an outsider I have a hard time seeing it as just a “heated” discussion, especially considering the direction it is/was heading.

    I also take that you’ve never worked in IT, otherwise you would’ve never made such a bold statement. Once you had to deal with a bunch of users that are unable to read or follow simple instructions you’ll lose all hope in humanity. ;)

    Like

  18. Rai Says:

    @Syd: I have actually worked in IT before lol. I’m just going off of personal experience. My friends aren’t fantastic at using a computer, yet they still figure shit out themselves.

    Love the pun though. Bad puns are my favourite kind of pun.

    Like

  19. Rai Says:

    @Romsstar: Hey. Have you seen this yet?

    https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14632881_1107356215986661_6039777891460581612_n.jpg?oh=6c6ede116e3e5217d48a0c8c2120db38&oe=5872A057

    Looks pretty awesome.

    Like

  20. Jared Mabra Says:

    That’s the PS Vita version? No, no, that must be fake?!? If that a actuate screenshot of the PS Vita version then fuck that shit! Isn’t me or does the PS Vita version of Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth look alot better than what I assume is suppose to be some kind of scraped map area hidden in what I think was found in The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time’s game files.

    Like

  21. sporkymcforkinspoon Says:

    @Jared: Sometimes comments trigger our spam filter for no reason. I check it a few times a day, so it’ll post eventually. It’s a real screenshot.

    Like

  22. Chrona Says:

    It’s been about 5 months since the post about Lost Evolution – was just curious if you were still on track to releasing it this year :)

    Like

  23. Anonymous Says:

    Can you release the Digimon World 1 tool in the current state?

    Like

  24. Vebrendos/Skullbazon Says:

    Still alive!!!!!!

    Keep it going friends!

    Like

  25. Anonymous Says:

    guysm when are we gonna hear some news about DECODE ????

    Like

  26. Rai Says:

    @Anonymous: When they feel like it’s necessary to post info about Decode.

    Either wait, go to the GBATemp thread, or visit their facebook.

    Like

  27. Truth Says:

    I keep trying to visit your Facebook page for news, but when I click on the “latest” tab is just comes up empty, and the main feed is sorted by some kind of “top posts” algorithm that I can’t seem to find an option to reorder.

    God, I hate how social media is becoming increasingly adverse to just having a simple “reverse chronological order” option.

    Like

  28. Anonymous Says:

    I sent two emails to “romsstar@gmx.de” and each time it failed is there some where else I can contact you at?

    Like

  29. Sporky McForkinspoon Says:

    The best one at this point is opdecoded@gmail.com.

    Like

  30. stallion8426 Says:

    While waiting for news on the projects, anybody want to discuss Tri with me? I just got caught up (had only seen the first part until today) and now i’m really hyped for the next part.

    SPOILERS

    So does anyone else think that was Genai at the end of Confessions?

    Like

  31. stallion8426 Says:

    Hey, do you think you guys could help me. I’ve been playing Re:digitize again recently and noticed that i can’t enter the area of the city with Birdramon and the meat farm (this happens: http://tinypic.com/r/2vl1lqa/9) and ppsspp becomes unresponsive (or sometimes my whole computer locks up)

    I’ve tried an earlier save, updating ppsspp, none has helped. Any idea what could be causing it/how to fix it?

    Like

  32. Anonymous Says:

    Romsstar, I just want to plau DW1 with mods man.. can you release your tool as it is? I know it’s yours but I’ve been waiting for 5 years..

    Consider a Christmas gift for your fan.

    Like

  33. Chrona Says:

    Try going into that exact same place with an unpatched version, just to see if it works for you. If it does, you might need to repatch the game or something

    Like

  34. Anonymous Says:

    Any news on DW1 tool?

    Like

  35. Syd Montague Says:

    @stallion8426
    That doesn’t look too good to be honest, my first guess when seeing this screenshot would be that your GPU could be faulty.

    It seems odd to me that it only locks up on that one area, though… Do other, graphically intensive, games work?

    Like

  36. stallion8426 Says:

    @syd Montague

    I am a gaming rig, so i easily run way more intense games than this. I also had no problems with this game previously (i’ve beaten it, with almost 30 hours on the clock). I’m gonna try @Chrona’s suggestion, then get back to you guys.

    Like

  37. stallion8426 Says:

    So i figured out the issue. Somehow either my save files for this game or (more likely) the whole memstick got corrupted. I tried a completely different save from a different device (from recent playthrough on my phone) and it worked just fine. Thanks for your help guys!

    Like

  38. Rai Says:

    @Stallion: I see… I was gonna ask if you have an AMD card.

    I’m not sure how a corrupted save or memory stick would cause your entire display driver to break down like that though.

    Like

  39. digigirlfanlove62 Says:

    hey am so how is digimon re:digitize Decode going?

    Like

  40. digigirlfanlove62 Says:

    hey there guys so this is my first time ever seeing these digimon games but the ones i am interested in are the ds games because i do not play station, so when i look up digimon world dawn or dusk i was thinking that if i imported the game from north america or america am to ireland, for me really I really like the digimon fransize like I have currently watch digimon seasons one two and four eps of season 3 and some of digimon fusion season one. I am definitely getting back to watching digimon tamers and digimon fusion I just wanting to watch something different for a while.
    please @Romsstar can you please give us a trailer when your done and good luck your super geez you should be a game developer
    ;).

    Like

  41. digigirlfanlove62 Says:

    You are amazing people for transating a game it takes a long time, dedication and faith but your doing great and long live your progress.

    Like

  42. stallion8426 Says:

    @Rai

    Guess my comment disappeared. Anyway, I do have an AMD card but that shouldn’t matter. I have played the game a great deal before it happened. I’m not really sure why the save would cause issues either but…computers.

    Like

  43. Rai Says:

    @Stallion It would matter. AMD cards are notorious for having problems with OpenGL. PPSSPP in particular crashes quite a bit when using AMD cards (My old graphics card a few months ago was AMD. I had a ‘lot’ of problems due to it).

    Google it, Catalyst and PPSSPP, you’ll find more info about it

    Like

  44. Ron Says:

    Hey guys, what happen?, No more updates since September?, I want to donate!, I really need this translation, don’t want to even try decode in Japanese.

    Like

  45. Rai Says:

    @Ron: they’re still working on it.

    Like

  46. Truth Says:

    A weird thing that happens in Mass Effect with regards to AMD cards is that all the character models glitch out in the Noveria mission on some AMD cards.

    The models all turn into writhing masses of black pixels because something screws up in the lighting engine, iirc.

    Like

  47. stallion8426 Says:

    I have never had any sort of graphical issues with my AMD card before this, and switching out the saved data fixed it. So, idk. But whatever, its fixed now so I’m content.

    Like

  48. Anonymous Says:

    so excitied I have high hopes for the game and i think it is being translated to english sub going on the trailer you released on youtube of the opening of digimon re; digitize decode english;). Hey am is there any games that i can play in english or english subbed in europe because i check the digmon games wiki and the only english games for ds are in north america..

    Like

  49. Jukan Says:

    Please do not take this the wrong way, but I am shocked there was no update for Christmas, or even a single comment since the 20th. Not even a “Merry Christmas everyone” when there has been at least one each year. Everything ok on your ends?

    Like

  50. Chrona Says:

    In my case I was figuring there would probably be an update before the end of the year so I was waiting for it before I commented.

    Since we might not be getting one I might as well reply now.

    HOPE EVERYONE ENJOYED THEIR HOLIDAYS :D

    Like

  51. Rai Says:

    @Jukan: A lot of people are especially busy this time of year, what with Christmas and New Years, you can’t really blame them for not commenting/making a new post.

    And sometimes, worse things can happen. Don’t worry though, if they cancel it, they’d make a post. So you can be sure it’s still being worked on.

    Like

  52. Syd Montague Says:

    Happy new year everyone.

    I posted this on Discord already, so I guess it’s only fair to drop it here as well: http://i.imgur.com/iebc4Eo.png

    That is what I’ve been working on lately. ;)

    Like

  53. Rai Says:

    @Syd: Oh that is fancy. Nice work, how are you doing it exactly? Are you using a patch to apply the textures into the ISO, or is there some kind of special PPSSPP texture settings that allow texture mods?

    Like

  54. Syd Montague Says:

    @Rai
    It is basically the task mentioned in Romsstar’s original post. As the situation occurred we did a lot of the research needed for it “by accident”, so I actually started writing a tool that can read and rebuild the file format.
    From there on the usual tool chain for rebuilding the ROM takes place.

    It’s by far not finished and the screenshot is more of a “proof of concept”, as I still had to change one file manually to make it work.

    Besides that the tool might become handy for the patch itself, as its foundation can be easily expanded to modify most of the game files. :)

    Like

  55. Rai Says:

    @Syd: Oh wow, that’s actually really cool.

    Like

  56. cryum Says:

    Just learned this for the first time, but the 3D models used for Cyber Sleuth were done in Unity, and thus compatible with a lot of things as .obj files. They were ported almost 1:1 to Linkz and Next Order, with some differences in a few of the textures and probably animation/bones.

    Like

  57. rafa Says:

    Keep up guys wish u all well

    Like

  58. stallion8426 Says:

    Who all is excited for Next Order? Comes out internationally in a week or so.

    Like

  59. Rai Says:

    @Stallion I’m pretty excited for it. I played the Vita version in English, and it’s not bad honestly.

    Like

  60. stallion8426 Says:

    Awesome. Plus with all of the improvements made on the ps4 release, I’m really excited. And we get to see Meicoomon from tri.

    Like

  61. Anonymous3 Says:

    no news yet?

    Like

  62. Rai Says:

    @Anonymous3 Don’t act like you’re some perfect little angel. I saw the 5 posts you tried to make, and failed because you couldn’t think of anything to say but “HERP DERP ITS JANUARY AND THEY DONT RELEASE PATCH EVEN THO THEY SAID THEY WILL FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK U STUPID ASSHOLES BULLSHIT”.

    Go have a tantrum somewhere else you prepubescent little wanker. They ‘never’ said they would release the patch last year, not even a release date yet.

    “I study engineering and have a OB” My arse you do, you’ve never done any work in your entire life, clearly. Otherwise you’d know that this shit takes time, especially when this is a hobby for them, not a job. You don’t pay them, you have no say in any of this.

    Oh and don’t worry. I’ve left your posts in the trash, because I’m not going to delete them. I’ll let them see the posts first, just to see how much of a two faced prat you are, that doesn’t deserve anything. You may think you’re perfect, but I’ll use your own words back at you here; ‘the truth isn’t always “Good or cute”‘.

    Like

  63. Chrona Says:

    To be fair, the update on May 12th does say they plan to release Lost Evolution by the end of the year and then a facebook post on November 29th said we would get updates on it soon, which is where I assume most of the impatience is coming from. If people are given a date, they go crazy if that date isn’t met. Which is stupid, just be patient and you’ll get the final product when it’s 100%. Redigitized was great, and I know Lost Evolution and Decode will both be great too once they are out.

    Like

  64. Sporky McForkinspoon Says:

    Alright, fine, here’s an update. Romsstar and I both had some things come up in our personal lives that made it hard to work on the translations. No, we’re not specifying what. No, neither translation is canceled. Yes, it’s taken longer than expected. I’m sorry that that happened, but you people also don’t pay me, so I’m not that sorry.

    Like

  65. Rai Says:

    @Chrona: I understand people can be impatient, and can be worried, I’m completely fine with that.

    What I’m not fine is literally the same person spamming the same comment, outright insulting the team several times, and then making a post acting innocent as if nothing happened.

    Also they never promised a release, I looked at that blog post, and it said they were planning. Plans can go wrong, but I’m seriously tired of people acting like they own the place, and getting sand in their vaginas whenever something doesn’t go their way.

    Just think about this for a moment people. You want something, the translation specifically, I understand that. I’m excited for it too, but that’s not how you go about to ask for progress updates. You don’t go and start insulting the people who are fucking feeding you, no, instead that’s more likely to make them stop entirely, because let’s be honest here. Why should they continue for people who are so ungrateful that they turn instantly and start screaming and throwing tantrums like a god damn toddler when things don’t go their way?

    EDIT: @Sporky: Darn, you posted before me lol. Don’t apologise. There’s no reason for you guys to apologise, at all. Shit happens, things get in the way.

    Like

  66. Chrona Says:

    I wasn’t justifying their bitching, was just thinking aloud mostly.

    Sorry about the personal issues guys :( hope everything works out for you. No apologies needed

    Like

  67. stallion8426 Says:

    Sorry things haven’t been going well for you guys! And really don’t let these impatient assholes bother you, they’re really not worth it.

    Like

  68. Rai Says:

    Anonymous3 just tried to post again, this time insulting me. It’s adorable how stupid and petty this kid is, haha.

    He also admitted to being a necrophiliac, by using generic sex insults.

    Again, sent them to the trash, maybe I’ll start a collection of his stupid posts, and then look back on them for laughs. There’s 8 in there at the moment.

    Like

  69. Sporky McForkinspoon Says:

    Yeah, I set up his comments to go directly into the spam filter.

    Like

  70. Chrona Says:

    I hope that when this is all over and the patches are out, you share those comments. For the lulz. Maybe make a collage of them

    Like

  71. Chrona Says:

    Real talk though, what the fuck were the localizers for Next Order smoking?

    Machine-dray-mon?

    Like

  72. stallion8426 Says:

    Yeah, that definitely took some time to get used to. Though honestly I’m more bothered by the stats being named STR, STA, WIS instead of the names used by World 1, and the fact that Omnimon is localized as Omegamon (which i know is his actual name but I am so used to Omnimon)

    Like

  73. VeganSaiyan Says:

    If you are gonna translate one more game after Decode & Lost Evolution please let it be Digital Monsters D-Project for WonderSwan Color. This game is so interesting & unique yet so unknown & underrated. I played it in japanese but only managed to complete like half of the game. Also this game is not fully understood, there is like one guide but still a lot of details to unravel. If only it would spread across community thanks to english translation then maybe together we will fully dissect every aspect of it : )

    Like

  74. XDragon2688 Says:

    Hope everything has been going well lately. Just poking my head in

    Like

  75. Chrona Says:

    Anyone wanna talk about Decode a bit? :D

    I’m pretty excited to see what all the new items do, since there’s apparently so many of them

    Like

  76. LGSaiyan Says:

    talking about Decode, what I like the most are the x-volution digimon that are in there

    Like

  77. pimpgamez Says:

    So is this still being worked on? any kind of status report anywhere?

    Like

  78. Rai Says:

    @pimpgamez: Yes it’s still being worked on, for a status report, Sporky made a comment not that long ago, go check the comment section.

    Pople, I can’t make this clear enough.

    They would tell us if they’d cancel it. They’ve brought us one translation already, I doubt they’ll stop working so easily. They did the long silence for Re:Digitize, and it worked out completely fine, it’s nothing new.

    Like

  79. pimpgamez Says:

    ok, good to hear, was just wondering

    Like

  80. Rai Says:

    @pimpgamez: Don’t worry, it wasn’t specifically aimed at you, but at everyone wondering the same thing.

    Like

  81. Truth Says:

    Is there a way to set it so that things posted to the facebook page trigger notifications? I’m trying to find an option because Facebook won’t fix their “latest updates” page to actually show the latest updates in full.

    Like

  82. stallion8426 Says:

    @Truth

    On the actual website (not the mobile app) you can go to their page and if you mouse over “Following” a drop down should appear. Click the pencil next to Notifications and in there you can set it to notify you whenever the page does anything.

    Like

  83. Chrona Says:

    Someone made a guide for Redigitized on GameFAQs, plugging it here

    https://www.gamefaqs.com/psp/637157-digimon-world-redigitize/faqs/74471

    Like

  84. Subarashi Says:

    hey heyy ~
    little question,,eh i found a lets play on youtube.. but the person started with the new female green hair girl. how is that possible oo? im playing the game atm. but i didnt see a option to switch characters or something like that. would be nice to know D:

    Like

  85. Jared Mabra Says:

    That’s Shinomiya Rina from Decode for Nintendo 3ds. She’s not from Re;digitize for the Sony PSP.

    Like

  86. Truth Says:

    Gave Citra a try with Decode. Despite it being listed with a very low compatibility rating, it doesn’t run all too badly Granted, I don’t have multiple megas running around at the beginning of the game so maybe that might change with larger digimon.

    That being said, I’d still recommend playing it on an actual 3ds. You need to hack one to dump and decrypt for Citra to begin with, anyway.

    Like

  87. Chrona Says:

    http://nichegamer.com/2017/03/21/digimon-story-cyber-sleuth-hackers-memory-heads-west-in-early-2018/

    :D

    Like

  88. Anonymous Says:

    Question – is there a way to play the translation of Decode in the 3ds without a gateway or without CFW, once the translation comes out? I don’t really know anything about this other than i just want to play digimon

    Like

  89. Truth Says:

    Nope. You will need to modify it in some way.

    Like

  90. Anonymous Says:

    Welp. I only have access to homebrew launcher because when I got my 3DS it was on 11.3

    Like

  91. Anonymous Says:

    Please dont let the project die!

    Like

  92. stallion8426 Says:

    Its not dead yet, just slowed down because reasons.

    Like

  93. Rai Says:

    @Anonymous: I believe you can use HANS to play the translation patch on 11.3.

    Like

  94. Anonymous Says:

    @Rai Really? I do have access to HANS-
    I’m going to hope that will work! Thank you!!

    Like

  95. Anonymous Says:

    @stallion8426 thanks, I’ll patiently wait

    Like

  96. Rai Says:

    @Anonymous: No problem.

    Like

  97. Anonymous Says:

    they should make update for april fools, and everyone will lose their mind :D

    Like

  98. Chrona Says:

    Bump

    This place is dead, talk more peeps :)

    Like

  99. Jukan Says:

    Happy Easter. Hope all is going well, and evryone is enjoying their last candy-giving holiday before freaking Halloween!

    Like

  100. BigZam Says:

    I had a dream for some reason and reminded me of this. The dream was you won’t complete the work but you said will release what we’ve done.

    Like

  101. Jdizzle Says:

    oh hey, Big Zam

    Like

Leave a Reply

